Phillip Island 500

2018 marks the 29th time the ATCC/Supercars Championship has visited Phillip Island having first raced there in 1976.

Phillip Island 500

20 – 22 April 2018

Circuit Description

The Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit is fast and flowing, boasting twelve turns across the almost four and half kilometre track. Gardener straight is the fastest section of the circuit, leading past the pits and down towards the right-hander at turn one and into the sweeping left-hander at the Southern loop. The run down through turns three and four has arguably the best view of any section of racetrack in Australia, overlooking Bass Strait.

Circuit Guide

Circuit Name: Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
Location: Phillip Island, Victoria
Format: Super500
Track Length: 4.4453km
Circuit Direction: Anti-Clockwise
Corners: 12
Fastest Point: End of the front straight
Slowest Point: Turn 10
Full Throttle: 45%
Top Speed: 285km/h
Average Speed: 174km/h
Lap Record: 1:31.2142 – Scott McLaughlin in a Ford Falcon FG-X (2017)
Qualifying Lap Record: 1:29.0621 – Scott McLaughlin in a Ford Falcon FG-X (2017)
Race Wins: Craig Lowndes – 11
Pole Positions: Jamie Whincup – 7
2017 Winners: R1: Fabian Coulthard R2: Chaz Mostert
2018 Winners: R1: Scott McLaughlin R2: Scott McLaughlin
Tyres: 28 Soft

2018 Phillip Island 500 Event Information

Friday 20 April – Sunday 22 April 2018

Practice 1: 40 minutes
Practice 2: 40 minutes
Qualifying: 20 minutes
Race 1: 250km (57 laps)
Qualifying: 20 minutes
Race 2: 250km (57 laps)

Find out more on the Phillip Island 500 qualifying and race format in our guide to the 2018 Race Formats