Winton SuperSprint

Two hours drive north of Melbourne, Winton Raceway is located ten minutes from the city of Benalla in Northern Victoria. The rural circuit is the home test track for more than half of the teams in the championship. The first round was held there in 1985 and the circuit has hosted the ATCC/Supercars championship every year since except for 1987, 1996 and 2005.

Winton SuperSprint

18 – 20 May 2018

Circuit Description

Winton is the slowest circuit on the championship calendar, noted for its tight and twisty layout. The nature of the circuit makes Winton one of the easiest tracks on brakes, but the high number of second gear corners mean teams will require a car that can look after its tyres well. Winton is one of the rare tracks where front tyres wear out as much as much as the rears. With the loss of grip in the front, it affects the turn in of the car and the braking performance. Combining this with a loss of rear grip, the high degradation can make this a difficult circuit in terms of strategy.

Circuit Guide

Circuit Name: Winton Motor Raceway
Location: Benalla, Victoria
Format: SuperSprint
Track Length: 3.0km
Circuit Direction: Clockwise
Corners: 12
Fastest Point: Entry to Turn 1
Slowest Point: Turn 9
Full Throttle: 38%
Top Speed: 225km/h
Average Speed: 136km/h
Race Lap Record: 1:19.7092 – Fabian Coulthard (2016) in a Ford Falcon FG X
Qualifying Lap Record: 1:19.0469 – Mark Winterbottom (2016) in a Ford Falcon FG X
Race Wins: Jason Bright, Russell Ingall, Garth Tander, Craig Lowndes, Mark Winterbottom, Jamie Whincup – 4
Pole Positions: Mark Winterbottom, Chaz Mostert – 4
2017 Winners: R1: Scott McLaughlin R2: Shane van Gisbergen
Tyres: 24 Super Soft

2018 Winton SuperSprint Event Information

Friday 18 May – Sunday 20 May 2018

Practice 1: 30 minutes for Additional Drivers only
Practice 2: 45 minutes
Practice 3: 45 minutes
Practice 4: 45 minutes
Qualifying 1: 15 minutes
Race 1: 120km (40 laps)
Qualifying 2: 20 minutes
Race 2: 200km (67 laps)

Find out more on the Winton SuperSprint qualifying and race format in our guide to the 2018 Race Formats