Sydney SuperNight 300

Opened in 1990, Sydney Motorsport Park, then known as Eastern Creek Raceway, first hosted a round of the Australian Touring Car Championship (ATCC) in 1992 and went on to hold an ATCC or V8 Supercar round every year, excluding 2006, until 2008. The V8 Supercars returned to Eastern Creek in 2011 for the offcial pre-season test day (and again in 2013 and 2014) before the re-branded Sydney Motorsport Park circuit returned to the calendar in 2012 after an $11million upgrade.

Sydney SuperNight 300

03 – 04 August 2018

Circuit Description

Now the only permanent race circuit in the Sydney area, after the closure of Oran Park in 2010, Sydney Motorsport Park is a fast and flowing circuit with a mixture of slow, medium and high speed corners and plenty of passing opportunities.

The category had announced that the shorter 2.8km Druitt layout would be used for the event due to the logistics of lighting the full venue from a racing, television and event perspective. However, with the installation of 60 lighting towers to light up the circuit and the event precinct, the inaugural Sydney SuperNight 300 will now run on the full 3.93km Gardener GP circuit.

Circuit Guide

Circuit Name: Sydney Motorsport Park
Location: Eastern Creek, New South Wales
Format: SuperNight
Track Length: 3.93km
Circuit Direction: Anti-Clockwise
Corners: 11
Fastest Point: Pit Straight
Slowest Point: Turn 8
Full Throttle: 42%
Top Speed: 270km/h
Average Speed: 155km/h
Race Lap Record: 1:30.5482 – Nick Percat (2017) in a Holden Commodore VF
Qualifying Lap Record: 1:28.2259 – Scott McLaughlin (2017) in a Ford Falcon FG X
Race Wins: Mark Skaife – 10
Pole Positions: Chaz Mostert, Mark Skaife, Marcos Ambrose – 4
2016 Winners: R1: Shane van Gisbergen R2: Jamie Whincup
Tyres: 16 Super Soft

2018 Sydney SuperSprint Event Information

Friday 03 August – Saturday 04 August 2018

Practice 1: 40 minutes [6pm AEST]
Practice 2: 30 minutes [1.15pm AEST]
Qualifying 1: 10 minutes (the bottom 16 cars from Friday and Saturday’s combined practice times only) [4.15pm AEST]
Qualifying 2: 10 minutes (the top 10 from Friday and Saturday’s combined practice times and the top six in Q1) 

Qualifying 3: 10 minutes (the top 10 in Q2)
Race: 300km [7.20pm AEST]

Find out more on the unique Sydney SuperNight 300 qualifying and race format in our guide to the 2018 Race Formats