Darwin Triple Crown

A regular fixture on the calendar since 1998, Hidden Valley Raceway features one of the longest and fastest straights and one of the slowest corners in Australia.

Since its introduction to the Darwin event in 2006, no driver has won the Darwin Triple Crown trophy and the trophy remains unclaimed. With the return to a two-race format, a driver now has to win both the weekend’s races and qualify fastest in the Top 10 Shootout to complete the treble and take the most elusive award in Supercars.

Darwin Triple Crown

Date 16 – 18 June 2017

Circuit Description

A challenging back section of curves, bumps and tight hairpin bends make up the 14-turn track, and with high levels of tyre wear, set-up and straight line grunt are critical.

Circuit Guide

Circuit Name: Hidden Valley Raceway
Location: Darwin, Northern Territory
Format: SuperSprint
Track Length: 2.87km
Circuit Direction: Anti-Clockwise
Corners: 14
Fastest Point: Main Straight
Slowest Point: Turn 6
Full Throttle: 45%
Top Speed: 271km/h
Average Speed: 149km/h
Race Lap Record: 1:06.8659 – Rick Kelly (2015) in a Nissan Altima L33
Qualifying Lap Record: 1:06.0259 – Craig Lowndes (2016) in a Holden Commodore VF
Race Wins: Mark Skaife – 8
Pole Positions: Mark Winterbottom, Mark Skaife – 4
2017 Winners: R1: Fabian Coulthard, R2: Scott McLaughlin
Tyres: 24 Super Soft

2018 Crownbet Darwin Triple Crown Event Information

Friday 15 June – Sunday 17 June 2018

Practice 1: 45 minutes
Pracice 2: 45 minutes
Practice 3: 45 minutes
Qualifying 1: 15 minutes
Race 1: 120km (42 laps)
Qualifying 2: 20 minutes
Top Ten Shootout
Race 2: 200km (70 laps)

Find out more on the Darwin Triple Crown qualifying and race format in our guide to the 2018 Race Formats