Adelaide 500

A mainstay on the calendar since 1999, the Adelaide 500 is the traditional season opener and the perfect annual launch pad for the Supercars Championship Series.

Held on one of the world’s most unforgiving street circuits, the fast layout in the heart of Adelaide leaves absolutely no room for errors.

Adelaide 500

01 – 04 March 2018

Circuit Description

The Adelaide street circuit was created in 1985 for a round of the FIA Formula One World Championship, bringing Grand Prix racing to Australia for the first time. The heritage created by its eleven-year history as a Grand Prix circuit, has well and truly been upheld with the introduction of V8 Supercars racing in 1999, with the original circuit being reduced in length from 3.78 kilometres to its current 3.22 kilometre form.

Travelling to Adelaide to watch the Supercars? Check out our Guide to Adelaide and the Adelaide 500

Circuit Guide

Circuit Name: Adelaide Parklands Street Circuit
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Format: SuperStreet
Track Length: 3.22km
Circuit Direction: Clockwise
Corners: 14 (8 Right, 6 Left)
Fastest Point: Brabham Straight
Slowest Point: Turn 9 Hairpin, at the end of Brabham Straight
Full Throttle: 45%
Top Speed: 251km/h
Average Speed: 146km/h
Lap Record: 1:20.4210 – Scott McLaughlin (2017) in a Ford Falcon FG X on the super soft tyre
Qualifying Lap Record: 1:19.2951 – Shane van Gisbergen (2017) in a Holden Commodore VF on the super soft tyre
Race Wins: Jamie Whincup 10 (4 round wins)
Pole Positions: Jamie Whincup 7
2017 Winners: R1: Shane van Gisbergen R2: Shane van Gisbergen
2018 Winners: R1: Shane van Gisbergen R2: Shane van Gisbergen
Tyres: 28 Soft

2018 Adelaide 500 Event Information

Thursday 01 March – Sunday 04 March 2018

Practice 1: 40 minutes
Practice 2: 40 minutes
Qualifying 1: 20 minutes (sets the grid for Race 1)
Practice 3: 20 minutes
Top 10 Shootout
Race 1: 250km (78 laps)
Qualifying 2: 20 minutes (sets the grid for Race 2)
Top 10 Shootout
Race 2: 250km (78 laps)

Find out more about the Adelaide 500 race format in our guide to the 2018 Race Formats