V8 Supercars releases 2016 Pit Lane Order

Pit-lane order
V8 Supercars pit lane. Photo: Keith McInnes Photography

V8 Supercars has released its pit lane order for the 2016 season, revealing Prodrive Racing Australia has split its main drivers Mark Winterbottom and Chaz Mostert across two separate garages.

With pit lane order determined by the previous year’s Teams’ Championship results and factoring in teams with multiple cars or single car entries, Red Bull Racing Australia retain the number one garage while its third TeamVortex car will share a pit-boom with customer team TEKNO Autosports in the second garage.

Prodrive Racing Australia will occupy the third and fourth garages, but have opted to race Chaz Mostert under the #55 Rod Nash Racing licence out of the fourth garage sharing a boom with Super Black Racing’s Chris Pither, while Winterbottom will be based in the third garage alongside the soon-to-be announced fourth driver (expected to be Cam Waters).

The split is reportedly due to commercial reasons, but with Winterbottom and Mostert no longer needing to share a pit-boom, it should prevent the squad having to double stack its two star drivers during pit-stops.

Charlie Schwerkolt’s new single-car Team 18 entry in the hands of Lee Holdsworth and the third Brad Jones Racing entry of Tim Blanchard are the only other teams set to share a garage and pit-boom.

V8 Supercars 2016 Pit Lane Order - Pit-Exit to Pit-Entry

188Triple Eight Race EngineeringJamie Whincup
97Triple Eight Race EngineeringShane van Gisbergen
2888Triple Eight Race EngineeringCraig Lowndes
19TEKNO AutosportsWill Davison
31Prodrive Racing AustraliaMark Winterbottom
6Prodrive Racing AustraliaTBA
455Rod Nash RacingChaz Mostert
111Super Black RacingChris Pither
52Walkinshaw PerformanceGarth Tander
22Walkinshaw PerformanceJames Courtney
68Brad Jones RacingJason Bright
14Brad Jones RacingTim Slade
721Brad Jones RacingTim Blanchard
18Team 18Lee Holdsworth
87Nissan MotorsportTodd Kelly
15Nissan MotorsportRick Kelly
923Nissan MotorsportMichael Caruso
96Nissan MotorsportDale Wood
1033Volvo Polestar RacingScott McLaughlin
34Volvo Polestar RacingJames Moffat
1112DJR Team PenskeFabian Coulthard
17DJR Team PenskeScott Pye
12222Lucas Dumbrell MotorsportNick Percat
3Lucas Dumbrell MotorsportTBA
139Erebus MotorsportDavid Reynolds
4Erebus MotorsportAaren Russell

Leave a comment