Lockwood Racing: Hot And Bothered At Homebush

Fabian Coulthard hampered by throttle issues in Sydney Telstra 500 race one

Full throttle was not an option for Lockwood Racing’s Fabian Coulthard today at the Sydney Telstra 500 as a mystery problem hampered his race.

The Kiwi qualified 12th after a stranded car spoiled his hot lap and, with 74 laps in 60 degree+ cockpit temperatures, paced himself in the opening laps.

At quarter distance he was running 17th following a pit stop under safety car that saw him have to queue behind teammate Jason Bright.

Six laps later, however, he was back in the pits after reporting a problem with his throttle. The team tried to fix it but, ultimately, retired the Commodore.

Fabian Coulthard
Lockwood Racing

“We can’t afford to have reliability issues and not be getting points but, fortunately, today was one of those days when everyone up the front in the championship had a shocker so we only lost one place.

“We’re still unsure exactly what’s wrong with the car. It’s definitely something to do with the throttle sticking.

“In qualifying we got a lap spoiled right at the end. Unfortunately Lee Holdsworth went off at Turn Eight and was beached on the inside of the curb. That caused the yellow flag while we were on our hot lap. It affected my last chance at a quick time and also my teammate Brighty’s.”

Sydney Telstra 500 – V8 Supercars Championship – Races 29&30

01 Tim Slade, Irwin Racing, 1:29.5515
02 Will Davison, Trading Post FPR Ford, +0.0876
03 Steven Johnson, Jim Beam Racing, +0.1164
04 Alexandre Premat, Fujitsu Racing, +0.4663
05 Michael Caruso, Fujitsu Racing, +0.6038
06 Russell Ingall, Supercheap Auto Racing, +0.7177
07 Tony D’Alberto, Team Hiflex, +0.7876
08 Shane Van Gisbergen, SP Tools Racing, +0.9264
09 James Moffat, Team Norton, +0.9870
10 Rick Kelly, Jack Daniel’s Racing, No time in shoot out
12 Fabian Coulthard, Lockwood Racing, +1.3870 (off provisional pole)

Sydney Telstra 500 – V8 Supercars Championship – Races 29&30

01 Craig Lowndes, TeamVodafone
02 Tim Slade, Lucky 7 Racing
03 James Courtney, Holden Racing Team
04 Jonathon Webb, Tekno Autosports
05 Jamie Whincup, TeamVodafone
06 Rick Kelly, Jack Daniel’s Racing
07 Karl Reindler, Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing
08 James Moffat, Team Norton DJR
09 Mark Winterbottom, Orrcon Steel FPR Ford
10 Michael Caruso, Fujitsu Racing GRM
DNF Fabian Coulthard, Lockwood Racing