Davison and Owen Secure Sandown 500 Pole

Will Davison lands Sandown 500 Pole

Will Davison and Steve Owen will start on pole position for the Wilson Security Sandown 500 after a dominant win in the second qualifying race.

Pepsi Max Crew FPR’s Davison never looked challenged after getting the jump on pole sitter Jamie Whincup off the start line taking a commanding lead and finishing almost six seconds clear of the chasing pack.

Whincup led home Red Bull Racing Australia team-mate Craig Lowndes in second and third respectively after Lowndes, the big winner off the start, moved from fifth to third, slotting in behind Whincup for the race.

After an entertaining battle, Chaz Mostert (Wilson Security Racing) lost out to Mark Winterbottom on the penultimate lap, the #5 Pepsi Max Crew FPR driver pushing the younger driver wide through the opening corner to take fourth.

The race lap record was lowered twice during the race, first by Winterbottom, and then by Will Davison, beating Garth Tander’s 2009 record.

Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander was in trouble early, his car stalled on the grid and he dropped twelve places before he was able to get underway.

Turn one was again a site of chaos as twenty-eight cars rushed into the left hander. Teammates, Rick Kelly (Jack Daniels Racing) and Michael Caruso (Norton 360 Racing) came together in the opening corner, spinning Dean Fiore (Dodo Insurance Racing) and Maro Engel (SP Tools Racing), with the former retiring with front end damage.

Team Jeld-wen FPR’s Alex Davison also suffered damage in the opening lap, with the right front guard disappearing from his car. He pitted for repairs, and race tape secure, he re-joined the race at the end of the queue.

The final grid for the Sandown 500 is Will Davison, Whincup, Lowndes, Winterbottom, Mostert, David Reynolds (The Bottle-O FPR Ford), James Courtney (Holden Racing Team), Tim Slade (Heavy Haulage Australia Racing), Scott McLaughlin (Fujitsu Racing GRM) and Todd Kelly (Jack Daniels Racing).