Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint

Date 18 – 20 August 2017

Opened in 1990, Sydney Motorsport Park, then known as Eastern Creek Raceway, first hosted a round of the Australian Touring Car Championship (ATCC) in 1992 and went on to hold an ATCC or V8 Supercar round every year, excluding 2006, until 2008. The V8 Supercars returned to Eastern Creek in 2011 for the offcial pre-season test day (and again in 2013 and 2014) before the re-branded Sydney Motorsport Park circuit returned to the calendar in 2012 after an $11million upgrade.

Circuit Description

Now the only permanent race circuit in the Sydney area, after the closure of Oran Park in 2010, it’s a fast and flowing circuit with a mixture of slow, medium and high speed corners and plenty of passing opportunities.

Circuit Guide

Circuit Name: Sydney Motorsport Park
Location: Eastern Creek, New South Wales
Format: SuperSprint
Track Length: 3.91km
Circuit Direction: Anti-Clockwise
Corners: 11
Fastest Point: Pit Straight
Slowest Point: Turn 8
Full Throttle: 42%
Top Speed: 270km/h
Average Speed: 155km/h
Lap Record: 1:30.9123 – Garth Tander (2012)
Qualifying Lap Record: 1:28.8272 – Chaz Mostert (2016)
Race Wins: Mark Skaife – 10
Pole Positions: Chaz Mostert, Mark Skaife, Marcos Ambrose – 4
2016 Winners: Shane van Gisbergen, Jamie Whincup
Tyres: 24 Super Soft

2017 Event Information

Friday: 2 x 45 minute Practice
Saturday: 1 x 45 minute Practice, 1 x 15 minute Qualifying, 1 x 120km Race
Sunday: 1 x 20 minute Qualifying, 1 x 200km Race